Download Membership Card Generate Membership Card
Full Names Surname
Membership No. 0000
Firstname | 000 000 0000

PPA steps us as primary sponsor for the 2015 SA Omnium Championships

PPA steps us as primary sponsor for the 2015 SA Omnium Championships

Cycling enthusiasts can look forward to four days of top-quality racing with the 2015 SA Omnium Track Championships, an Inter-Provincial and a Grand Prix scheduled to be held on 4, 5, 6 and 8 November at Africa’s only indoor cycling track, the Olympic-sized Bellville Velodrome in the Western Cape. The Pedal Power Association this week extended a helping hand to Western Cape Cycling by coming onboard as sponsor for the Championships, following an urgent plea for funding assistance last week.

The Omnium typically attracts the best track riders from around South Africa.  Some 150 cyclists are expected to participate, including regional teams from Gauteng, the Free State, KwaZulu-Natal, and the Eastern Cape, as well as a large turnout of local riders.

track racing 1

Photo: Owen Lloyd

“Western Cape Cycling is delighted that the Pedal Power Association has stepped up as the primary sponsor of the Omnium,” said Corné Bence, Chairman of Western Cape Cycling. The Western Province Cycling Association, regional body for cycling in the Cape Metropole region and organiser of the Track Championships, see the PPA as a key partner in developing cycling in the region.

“The Pedal Power Association is committed to promote cycling and the interests of cyclists,” said PPA Chairman Steve Hayward. “Although a large portion of our focus lies with recreational cycling and cycling advocacy, we are really happy that we can assist competitive cyclists in this way,” he added. “We wish Western Cape Cycling success with the Omnium and Championships and look forward to seeing some great racing on the track.”


Photo: Owen Lloyd

An omnium (from Latin: ‘of all’, ‘belonging to all’) consists of multiple races. The omnium was in 2007 re-introduced into the World Championships as a five-race format for men, and in 2009 for women. In 2010 the omnium was changed by the UCI to include the elimination race while the distances of the events were lengthened to favour endurance cyclists. Since 2014, the omnium consists of the scratch race, individual pursuit, elimination race, time trial, flying lap and points race. Participants receive points for each event, with the winner of the omnium being the rider with the highest total number of points at the end of the event.

Track events has recently attracted more than the usual road riders, who see it as an opportunity to improve their form. 

Spectators are welcome to attend any of the races and entrance is always for free. Expect thrills and spills as track cycling consists of short, close-contact high speed racing. For more information, please see or contact Christhonie Geldenhuys on 082 6714099.


Photo: Owen Lloyd



09h00               Scratch Race

10h30             Individual Pursuit

14h00             Elimination

U/16 and Junior riders will be accommodated in the afternoon



09h00               Time Trial

11h00             Flying Lap

14h00               Points Race

16h00               Awards Ceremony

U/16 and Junior riders will be accommodated in the afternoon.


FRIDAY 6 NOVEMBER – President’s Cup Inter-Provincial

Interprovincial meetings make for extremely exciting riding as riders always go all out to prove where the strength of track cycling in South Africa resides. Five provinces are taking part in the series this year, which consisted of three legs, held in Durban, Cape Town and later this year in Gauteng. The Western Cape may once again dominate this event after winning the President’s Cup last year. With a fast-pace racing, the event will start at 19h00 and is expected to end at about 21h30.



The riders will be sure to save their best for last for the Grand Prix meeting on Sunday when they will be riding for individual glory in the match sprint, keirin, points, elimination, 1500m and scratch races. The event will end with the exciting and crowd pleasing Madison, a race with two riders in each team riding part of the distance, handing over to the other member, resting, and then returning to the race.

Racing will start at 09h00 and will progress as follows;

  • 1500m
  • 500m TT (Para cycling)
  • Sprint (Quarter Final)
  • Elimination
  • Sprint (Semi Final)

Interval – Lunch

  • 2000m (Jnr Development)
  • 3000m Pursuit (Para cycling)
  • Keirin (Heats)
  • Points
  • 3000m (Jnr Development)
  • Sprint (Final)
  • Keirin (Final)


  • Madison (5 km)