Download Membership Card Generate Membership Card
Firstname Surname
Membership No. 0000
Firstname | 000 000 0000

Author: PedalPower

Entries are open for the 2012 Aca Joe summer Pro Classic (league) series. Cyclists who qualify with regards to age and seeding, can enter one of eight racing groups. Summer events with Pro Classic (league) status in 2012 are: Tour de PPA (15 Jan), Cyclelab Cape Cobra (22 Jan), Bouckaert-Soenen (29 Jan), Rollercoaster (5 Feb), Medallion Tour de Stellenbosch (19 Feb); Wellington Lions Cycle Day (25 Feb) and Bay City Cycle Tour (26 Jan).

All the best for 2012: May it be a great year, and may your cycling wishes come true! Discounted 'early bird' entries for the Tour de PPA on 15 January close on Monday 9 January - be sure to get your entry in soonest, although you will still be able to enter after the 9th, as well as on the day of the funride. Click here to enter now. JANUARY FUNRIDES ON THE PPA CALENDAR The 2012 funride calendar kicks off this weekend in the southern suburbs. Check out the online entries tab on the home page for more info and to enter.
  • Sunday 8 January:       Olympic Cycles / Pres Les / Foord “Journey 4 Sight n Service” Cycle Tour
  • Sunday 15 January:    Tour De PPA (PCS/league)
  • Sunday 22 January:    Cycle Lab Cape Cobra (PCS/league)
  • Sunday 29 January:    Bouckaert Soenen  Funride and MTB (PCS/league)

PPA members who want to explore new MTB trails over the festive season, can do so at a discounted day permit prices at the  Schapensberg trails near Somerset West, as well as the new trails at Thandi, Paul Cluver and Hermanus.

The first all-female " PPA Heels on Wheels, presented by Shape" took place on Sunday 11 December, with over 560 female cyclists entering the event. Despite the light rain early in the morning, the ladies rocked up en masse for the event.

Cape Town Market / Noble Energy has clinched the 2011 Coronation Double Century, beating title holders Daikin-Gu Elites and breaking their three year domination.  Second and third places are to be confirmed and are currently under protest. Vodacom C was the first ladies team and Cycle Lab Supercyling were the first mixed team to finish.

The Club 2000 and  Club 3000 initiatives were started many years ago to recognize those PPA members who take part in the majority of our PPA events and pedal respectively 2000 or 3000 km in a funride year (July to June).

Female cyclists who are looking to become more confident mountain bikers and looking for riding partners in the Tokai plantation, are invited to join Cyclelab on Tuesday mornings for MTB outrides. The rides cater for both novice and more advanced riders.

Jacobus Venter and Heletjie van Staden are the Elite WP road cycling champions for 2011, with Henry Fagan taking the Grand Masters title, Johan de Bod the Junior title, Zalene Tshoko the junior ladies title and Paul Mainking the Masters title. Other age group champions include William Saayman, Jennie Stenerhag, Aqeeb Abrahams, Triumph Baloyi, Qudissieyah Ceres, Gregory de Vink, Maroeshka Matthee and Christo Botha.

Johannesburg’s biggest cycle race ended in 10-man sprint finish to the line when Arran Brown won the small group sprint in front of his team mate Reinardt Janse van Rensburg. Arran finished 2nd last year and was the winner in 2009.